Back to Bootlegs

05-09-2004 - Black Like Mother's Day - North Star Bar - Philadelphia, PA (2CD)

Title: Black Like Mother's Day
Tour: Black Like Sunday
Date: MAy 9th, 2004
Venue: North Star Bar
City/Region/Country: Philadelphia, PA
a. SP-CMC-2 > SP-SPSB-6 (95Hz Bass Rolloff) > Archos Gmini 120 (analog line-in) > WAV
b. WaveLab : Fades In and Out / Splitting / Removal of Excess Crowd Noise
Sonitus:fx Multi-Band Compressor (Vintage Master Hard)
c. CDWave for easy tracking
d. WAV > FLAC Frontend (8/Verify) > FLAC
Taper/Bootleger Notes:
The band deviated from their written setlist by skipping "She's Gone Away" and they added "Goldilox" after "Mississippi Moon."

Another fabulous show by King's X. I've seen them each time they've come to the N.E. PA area and they never disappoint! For this recording I was on the far right-hand side of the venue, about 8 feet from the stage. I was directly in line with Ty's stack and the right PA Monitor. This ended up yielding a nicely balanced soundfield, with Doug's voice slightly to the left... just like it was at the venue.

This show was made extra memorable by the band members themselves. Long before the first opening act came on I ventured upstairs to check the view from the balcony. There were only a couple of people already there. I peered over the edge to locate my buddies below... and when I leaned back I realize I've got Doug Pinnick standing next to me, doing his own recon of the venue layout. Doug spent a few minutes chatting with us about Jerry's solo effort and Ty's new Jelly Jam project. He then wished us a good show and departed for "back-stage."

Before they start the "acoustic" set Doug takes a minute to let the crowd know that Jerry's Mom is in the audience... and of course to wish her a "Happy Mother's Day"... and he throws in "Thanks for having Jerry!"

When the show ended one of my buddies at the stage edge was fortunate enough to get Ty's setlist from his guitar tech, James. The band went from the stage to a few tables by the back of the bar where they proceeded to sign autographs, shake hands, and sell T-shirts and CD's. We got in line to get the setlist autographed. The band must've been exhausted after playing for nearly 2 hours, but they we perfect gentlemen, smiling and taking time to talk to each fan who wanted to meet them.

King's X. Truly a class act.
My Notes/Historical Notes:
Track List:
Disc 1:
01. Groove Machine
02. The Train
03. Believe
04. A Little Bit of Soul
05. Dogman
06. Black Like Sunday
07. Finished
08. Screamer
09. Johnny + Happy Mother's Day to Jerry's Mom
10. The Difference (In The Garden of St. Anne's-On-The-Hill)
11. (Thinking and Wondering) What I'm Gonna Do
12. Mr. Evil
13. Mississippi Moon
14. Goldilox
Disc 2:
01. Everybody Knows a Little Bit of Something
02. A Box
03. Talk To you
04. Sometimes
05. Visions
06. We Were Born to be Loved
07. Over My Head
08. Summerland
Artwork: KingsX_2004-05-09.rar